K-pop before it was K-pop

K-pop is.. I don’t know… just… well sometimes it is good, and sometimes it is just sad. I used to like K-pop back in high school and college, but I think that’s mainly because nobody else liked it. Yeah, call me a hipster if you want to… The reason I liked it was because few others did, and it still sounded cool. But when you live in an environment like me, you realize that K-pop is just as unoriginal and manufactured as the music in the US that I was trying desperately not to listen to back then. (And it turns out I missed a lot of the more poppier of pop musics.

Anyway, here is a decent list of Korean songs from yesteryear that I think are awesome but will never get any play because they aren’t sung by plastic surgery idols.


You can check out the rest of the songs after the jump.

And just for good measure.. even though it’s not Korean…

Why do I know these old songs? My dad had an extensive LP collection that he used to listen to when I was a kid. Some of these were really old relics that he just happened upon in the local market. Others he actually sought out (Especially the last one, Ishida Ayumi was apparently REALLY popular in Korea as well as Japan. And Damn, that song is good.

Anyhow. How is that for a playlist? I think I’ll make this a recurring series where I find obscure songs and put them on my blog. A playlist of sorts. All three of you who still read might enjoy it. HAHA.

3 Responses to “K-pop before it was K-pop”

  1. OMG, Ishida Ayumi! hahaha. I didn’t expect that you know her! And popular in Korea too! My both parents were oldies fans too and used to sing this song a lot like a lullaby when I was a kid.

  2. Good to know the story behind kpop. very well compose and funny hahaha…

  3. Very well compose and funny… Thanks

Leave a comment