How not to spam..

Wow! $2,965,021 for me, and all you need is my bank account number and access code?

Wow! $2,965,021 for me, and all you need is my bank account number and access code?

We’ve all gotten those scam emails from an estranged member of an African royal family who needs a foreign guarantor to gain access to an insane amount of money.  I get at least two a week judging from my spam folder.  But really does this kind of stuff ever work?No, it probably doesn’t.. and it shouldn’t. But if they keep writing them, then it must work some of the time, right?  Well, that’s probably true.  There have to be some people like our friend on the left there.  But generally these mails are harmless if you ignore them. But one caught my eye and I actually want to dissect it with you, so to read on follow me after the jump. So here is the email in black, with my comments in red

MY DONATINON,
 
Greetings in the name of our lord Jesus Christ, I am Mrs Kim Hyun sook from South Korea, a widow to late Kim Song Ho-Bong.
I already know it is fake, but warning flags are up already because Korean women do not change their names upon marriage and these two have the same name.  But Kim is rather common, so it’s still plausible.
I am 48 years old,
So young to be a widow! How terrible!
I am now a new Christian convert, suffering from long time cancer of the breast, from all indication my conditions is really deteriorating and it is quite obvious that I might not live up to 3 months, according to my doctor, This is because the cancer stage has gotten to a very bad stage. My late husband died last five years, and during the period of our marriage we couldn’t produce any child.
Cancer, eh? And a widow?  How horrible!
My late husband was very wealthy based in Cote d’Ivoire West Africa
Uh huh..
during his time and after his death, I inherited all his business and wealth. The doctors has advised me that i may not live for more than 3months
How convenient for me! 
I was at that night reading my bible and I came across Proverbs 21:13 If a man shuts his ears to the cry of the poor, he too will cry out and not be answered, that scripture rocked my world
A Korean widow who knows very little English (see below, she cites the nurse as helping her) is saying rocked my world.  Awesome.
, now i decided to divide the part of this wealth, to contribute to the development of the church in Africa, America Asia, and Europe, because this is what GOD expects from us in HIS church, Is our faith just about going to church, studying the bible, and avoiding sin?? Or does GOD expect more from HIS church?? I believe HE expects more from us, I selected you after I prayed over it.
I’m sorry Mrs. Kim, how do we know each other?  And why aren’t you giving the money to your church?
Now I am willing to donate the sum of ($2.5 million dollars USD) to the less privileged, I honestly pray that this money when in your possession will be used for the said purpose, because I have come to find out that wealth acquisition without Christ is vanity.
Please your daily prayer’s is very important to me I believe with prayers I must receive my healing miracleas we are Serving a faithful God
I thought we were supposed to be faithful to him… right?  
Romans 1:17 My Nurse help me to write this email.
Why the random scripture quote?  It has nothing to do with what your wrote before. (17 For in the gospel the righteousness of God is revealed—a righteousness that is by faith from first to last,[a] just as it is written: “The righteous will live by faith.”)
 
If you are interested contact me for more details through my private email: kimhy1956@yahoo.co.jp
Okay… 1956….. that makes you 48 in 2004! You should have written you were 58.. or picked kimhy1966 as your email address.. wait a second. .co.jp?  You said you were Korean.  Why do you have a Japanese email?  Why not a Korean one?  Oh yeah, right, because you need a CRN to get one and you’re not a real person.
 
Hoping to hearing from you
Remain blessed
Yours Sister in Christ

Mrs Kim Hyun I thought you said your name was Kim Hyun sook!

2 Responses to “How not to spam..”

  1. MATSUMOTO Hiroyuki Says:

    Hello! I’m MATSUMOTO. Do you remember me? We worked at KORYO in Japan. Please contact me.

  2. My spam box is also full of messages like these ^^ once in a while – usually when I’m very bored – I read one of them because I’m curious how much bullsh*t they wrote in it😛 love your comments, really made me laugh

Leave a Reply

