Weekend trip, forgot to pack toothpaste!

I think sometimes my American naivety gets the best of me here.  Usually there aren’t many problems, but sometmes I take American cultural standards for granted.  This past weekend, I went on a trip out of the city.  (Hoping to see the beach).

It rained all weekend!

Unfortunately it rained all weekend so I saw no beach at all.  So, I spent most of the weekend playing cards with a group of friends in our pension.  (Pension, for those who speak standard English American English, is a kind of low cost lodging with a shared bathroom. These kinds of facilities are common in Europe, Korea and Japan, especially around beaches or ski resorts.) It was still a lot of fun, but not what I had hoped for. I really really need to see the sea.

Back to our original topic, in America it’s usually standard that no matter where you stay, they usually give you toothpaste. This place had none. Whenever I pack to go somewhere, I almost never pack toothpaste because I’m either going to stay at someone’s house (and presumably they would have toothpaste) or I am staying at a hotel (which I assume will have toothpaste.) I’ll have to remember that and pack it in the future.

Well, what to do? I headed over to the nearest convenience store and perused the local brands. Normally I get Colgate, because I know what it is. Out here in the convenience store in the boonies, I didn’t have the option. I’d have to buy Korean toothpaste for the first time in years.

Korean toothpaste has rather… “interesting” variety. I remember when I was a child, my father brought back some tubes of Lucky brand bamboo flavored toothpaste. In the grocery store, I’ve seen other kinds of toothpaste including ginseng, pine needle, honey, green tea, woolong tea, ginko, and other kinds of natural flavors that are supposed to harness the best elements of nature to clean your teeth and make your breath smell great. I’m all for trying new things, but for my teeth, I prefer to go with the brand I grew up with.

Unfortunately for brand loyal me, I could only choose from bamboo flavored, ginseng flavored, and minty flavored toothpaste. I went with the minty flavored one.

This brand will be the first on the shelf if organized alphabetically.

It was called 2080.

The packaging claimed that it will keep your 20 teeth until you’re 80 years old, but somehow I doubt the company’s been around long enough to prove that. Even so, it worked pretty well and cleared up my morning breath the next day quite well. I found out that it’s because the toothpaste contains green tea leaves. In addition it actually tasted kind of good, well, for toothpaste. I’m not gonna use it as a topping on ice cream any time soon.

Anyway, my weekend was still fun, but I didn’t get to relax on the beach like i’d wanted to. My company has informed me that I might be able to go on business to the Haeundae area of Busan if I am lucky, so here’s hoping for great weather and luck.

For now, I have some really soggy socks to dry out when I get home from work today.

7 Responses to “Weekend trip, forgot to pack toothpaste!”

  1. Thats weird every place I go around socal or nevada do not have toothpaste. Maybe I should ask for it or I must be in a cheap motel/hotel.

  2. It’s been so long since my last trip that I don’t remember if they had toothpaste @ the hotel…. lol
    but I’ll make sure to take my own next month when I go on vacation😉

  3. The bamboo one is called 죽염 right? lol Don’t know but I’m quite addicted to that salty taste

  4. 2080 pulp is that it works for your testimony, as I’d like to sell it in Mexico to test, I use Colgate, because like you I grew up with her and is what I use and accommodation with other

  5. Oh, you couldn’t enjoy the trip at all because of rain! You should have checked the weather..T_T That’s very important especially in Korea!

    So you learned what is the first thing to do before going on a trip in Korea🙂

Leave a Reply

