My third favorite World Cup team

The Euro-South American World Cup

While the world cup is going on, I’m actually fortunate to have three teams to follow. Being an American, I like the U.S. Being a Korean-American, I like Korea. Some might assume that my experience living in Japan would make me partial to the Japanese team. Well you’re right, I’m partial to it, but not in the same way. You see, just as nobody can like both the Yankees and the Red Sox in baseball, or Manchester United and Liverpool in soccer, with Japan and Korea as arch rivals, I can’t bring myself to support them, but ironically the fact that they are the arch rival team makes me have a passing interest in information about the team itself, indirectly making me a supporter by some definitions.

So what is this third team that I am supporting in the cup? Brazil? No, I don’t like the strong teams stepping all over the weak ones, I actually prefer the underdogs. England? Hmm, I’ll admit they are probably my favorite European team, but I don’t want the cup winner this year to be from Europe or South America. It’s time for North America, Africa, or Asia to win. Aha, South Africa? Well, I suppose I should cheer them on as they are the hosts, not from Europe or South America, and underdogs.   I am happy if they win, but I’m not sure I would really call myself a South Africa fan as I know nothing of the team.

The third team I’m probably going to follow with a lot of enthusiasm is the “other” Korean team.  Yes, the other Korean team.  DPR Korea, also known as North Korea. (And on a side note, this is the first time my blog has even mentioned the north at all.  I sense the blog traveling in new and impressive directions from here on out.)

DPR Korea 2010 World Cup Team

I know there will be a lot of people who might react with “NORTH KOREA?!?!?!?! ARE YOU CRAZY?!??!?!?! They make nuclear bombs and they torpedo ships!  They defy international law! How dare you support their soccer team!”   But, soccer is a sport, not political engagements between opposing governments.  In addition, there’s definitely a story here on this team that kind of draws me to them and makes me wish for their success.First of all, many of you are probably wondering how in my right mind I can support the North Korean team if I love South Korea so much.  And here’s my answer…  though it might be difficult to understand.  I don’t like the North Korean government.  The government is responsible for nearly all of the problems that anyone can think of about North Korea.  At the end of the day, North Korea is full of people.  These people love their families.  They are humans.

In the 2002 World Cup, supporters of the South Korean team in a match vs. Italy reminded us that the North Korean team defeated Italy in an earlier world cup.

People in North Korea are Koreans just as much as people in South Korea are Koreans.  This is why even though there are government documents that list North Korea as Enemy No.1, and even though the North continues to threaten regional security with nuclear weapons, and even though recently the North Korean  navy torpedoed a South Korean ship in South Korean waters, South Koreans are in favor of the North’s soccer team.  It’s a general love for the people, regardless of the actions of their government.  Writing this reminds me of supporters holding up signs in the 2002 World Cup,  reading “Again 1966” when South Korea faced Italy, referring to the time that the North Korean soccer team defeated Italy in the 1966 World Cup in England.  Even though there hasn’t yet been a reunification of Korea, in some sense it can be said that Korea is one country, and some sense is better than no sense at all.  I’m not sure, but I’d bet that the North Korean people were thrilled about  South Korea’s success in the 2002 World Cup.

Anyway, although I do feel an affinity for the North Koreans because they are also Korean, I really am drawn to the story of one particular player.  His name is Jong Tae-Se.

Leading up to the World Cup, I liked to watch on TV this one show that gave a rundown of each team and then had interviews with some of the players.  Sometimes when I watch TV, it’s really just background noise and I am busy reading a book or something else.  Well, I noticed that they were talking about the North Korean team, but continued to read.  Suddenly I heard Japanese coming out of the TV.

I’ve lived in Japan for quite a while and I understand Japanese, and it really surprised me that a Korean player was doing his interview in Japanese.  So, I did an internet search and found some information about Jong Tae-Se.

Jong Tae-Se in his Kawasaki Frontale uniform

He was born to residents in Japan of Korean descent and raised in Japan.  His parents were both citizens of South Korea, but his mother’s family’s hometown is in North Korea so she sent him to a Korean school in Japan that is supported by a community of Overseas North Koreans.  He then changed his citizenship to North Korea when he became playing age and has been playing for North Korea in international matches since. Technically he’s still a South Korean citizen because the only way you can give up your South Korean citizenship is if you declare to have naturalized in another country that South Korea recognizes, which North Korea is not a part of.  So, this South Korean-North Korean-Japanese resident plays for North Korea and Kawasaki Frontale in the J-League in Japan.

Confusing isn’t it?  I’ll try to explain more about this later.

Jong  has also been called the Asian Wayne Rooney, and Wayne Rooney is an amazing English player, so surely Jong is brilliant himself.

Anyway….

The media has been falling all over him crying so much during North Korea’s national anthem before their match with Brazil.  Check out the video.

“Wow, that guy has dedication to his country!”  “A true patriot”  These are some of the comments that people have said after seeing the video.  They may be right, but if I am allowed to make some assumptions about the conditions of Jong’s childhood, then I think he’s crying for a very very different reason, and you’ll probably get to know a bit more about me when I write this.

Okay.. first of all he’s a Zainichi

(Note in Japanese, the term for overseas Koreans living in Japan is  Zainichi Chosenjin 在日朝鮮人.  Technically Zainiti itself means “those residing in Japan” but because after World War II, the largest group of non-Japanese residing in Japan was Koreans, simply the term Zainichi by itself implies that it’s an overseas Korean.  In Korean, the term is Jae-il gyopo, which means “brethren residing in Japan” but for the puroses of this article, the term Zainichi will be used from here on out.  Among Zainichi there are two groups, those loyal to the South Korean government, and those loyal to the North Korean one.  The pro-North Korean group was once more numerous but recently its numbers have been dwindling.  The pro-South Korean group is now more dominant, but both groups are shrinking as many Zainichi have repatriated, Naturalized, or intermarried with Japanese. )

Zainichi are in a very unique position in that they are minorities in Japan, and face discrimination, but if you didn’t know they were Koreans in the first place, you would simply assume that they were Japanese, as they speak perfect Japanese and look similar enough to Japanese that it becomes almost impossible to distinguish.  In this light, many Zainichi children in schools try to hide their heritage so as to not stand out and be victims of bullying by their Japanese peers.  In minority populations, there is a feeling of comfort amongst your own, and Jong may have had that outlet amongst the North Korean Zainichis, but remember, he was a South Korean citizen attending a North Korean Zainichi school, so there were probably some bullies in the school that became aware of this and pegged him as an outsider.  Amongst the group of Zainichis that are loyal to the South Korean government, he was probably also seen as an outsider because he was going to the North Korean-loyal school.  I don’t know if he’s ever been to South Korea during his childhood, but there are definitely cultural differences that would have probably made him an outsider in South Korea as well.

Why am I bringing any of this up? Well, I’m pretty sympathetic to the Zainichi situation because I feel like I’ve grown up in similar circumstances.   I’ve been writing this blog for quite a while, and I haven’t really said anything about myself or my background.  Some of you might have guessed from hints in previous posts that I am ethnically Korean.  I’ve never mentioned it before, but at the moment, I consider myself to be Korean, but since my mother is a white American, I don’t look like the typical Korean.   In fact to some, I don’t look like I am Korean at all.  Just the other day someone in my company told me that they thought I was from Iran.

Anyway when I was growing up, my circumstance was like Zainichi in the sense that I was a minority that didn’t really look like one.  Of course things in America are different from in Japan, but around White Americans, I’d always had a sense that I was somewhat different, but I’d better hide those differences.  So, does that mean I’ve got Korean-Americans to comfort me in this case?  No, the Korean-Americans were too busy comforting each other, and because I didn’t look the same as they did, they didn’t accept me as a Korean.  I can totally understand that though, when the majority stuffs a minority group into a box, they become very defensive of the box and when some members of the majority want in, they are promptly dismissed.  I guess I was perceived as a member of the majority.  How about amongst Koreans in South Korea?  It’s really hard to describe and isn’t relevant to my childhood because I came to Korea in 2006.   Basically upon first meeting with the average Korean, I’m a foreigner.  For some, I’ll always be a foreigner.  For others,  after they get to know me for a while, they realize that there’s some kind of connection. I’ve even had Koreans tell me that they think I’m Korean, but because of the initial reaction I still feel like an outsider sometimes.

Apologies to Mr. Jong if I am wrong, but, if my assumptions are correct, Jong Tae-Se may have felt that he was rejected by Japanese, North Korean Zainichi, South Korean Zainichi, and South Koreans.  He may have felt that he didn’t belong anywhere.  I grew up feeling like I didn’t belong anywhere because I was rejected by Korean Americans and accepted by white Americans only if I hid who I truly was.

What’s the point?

I think Jong Tae-Se is not crying because he’s overwhelmed by love for his country or an overbearing sense of patriotism.  He’s crying because people have told him he doesn’t belong here or there his entire life yet he’s a member of a team that represents the society that he himself identifies with.  He’s crying for all the sad memories his countrymen gave to him for being different, and arguably now he’s more representative of Korea than his childhood enemies will ever be.

In a similar sense, when I traveled to China for the Shanghai Expo, and got issued an employee access pass that read “KOR” on it (signifying that I worked in the Republic of Korea Pavilion), I didn’t cry, but I too got a bit emotional.  I mean, all my life people have been telling me I’m not Korean, and there I was working in a building that has the sole purpose of representing Korea to the world.

That there is such great disparity between South Korea, a robust economy that leads the world in advanced technology and North Korea, a failed economy and isolated state, saddens me, but I at least (think) I understand how Mr. Jong truly feels.

Addendum: I found this article that actually contains an interview with Jong and also shows that as far as soccer is concerned, North and South Koreans support each other.  They talk of Park Ji Sung (the most famous South Korean footballer) as a national hero in North Korea for getting the winning goal over Iran, which allowed North Korea to qualify for the world cup.  The idea of North Koreans jumping up and down in excitement for South Korean success is quite moving.

Share

34 Responses to “My third favorite World Cup team”

  1. Je voudrais dire que je supporte l’équipe sud coréenne de tout cœur et que durant son premier match, la Corée Du Sud a su montrer son potentiel et je peux dire même (après son deuxième match) que nous allons assister à un exploit pareil à celui de la coupe du monde 2002 organisée à la Corée du Sud et le Japon.
    Je peux dire que la résultat du premier match n’est pas à 100% un billet pour le deuxième tour dés moment que la Grèce n’était pas au rendez-vous (comme elle l’a été à la coupe d’Europe 2004), le match allait dans un sens unique.
    Il reste à savoir que les deux matchs restants seront contre le l’Argentine et le Nigeria. Les argentins avec une sélection qui comprend des stars du ballon rond comme: Lionel MESSI, Carlos TEVEZ, Juan VERON, Gonzalo HIGUAIN, etc…
    Avec tant de joueurs de ce calibre, la rencontre promis d’être passionnante, mais l’essentiel reste les 3 points.
    Le Nigeria et après sa défaite contre les guerriers de Diego MARADONA, ne tolèrera point une telle et ne fera absolument pas de cadeau aux rouges de l’Asie (대한민국) surtout avec un tel gardien de but comme Vincent ENYEAMA.
    Sur le terrain tout est possible et le meilleur gagne toujours.

    J’aimerai ajouter que j’encourage l’équipe de la Corée du Nord avec autant d’enthousiasme.
    Il est vrai que la Corée du Nord a été considérée comme malchanceuse d’être dans un groupe “mortel” qui comprend: le Brésil (Kaka), le Portugal (Ronaldo) et la Côte d’Ivoire (Drogba).
    Son premier match contre le Brésil était une occasion pour dire que cette équipe, dont 95% des joueurs sont des joueurs locaux, n’est pas du tout facile à battre et qu’elle peut surprendre à chaque moment avec une défense bien organisée et un attaquant comme Jong Tae Se (Jouant à Kawasaki Frontale – Japon).
    Dernièrement, je dois aussi signaler que les Samurais bleus ont su bien dérober une victoire grâce au seul but de Keisuke HONDA (CSKA Moscow – RUSSIA) et décevoir les lions de Cameroun.
    (…)

  2. Gina Joy Says:

    Plugged the above into a French translator and it came out:
    “Let me say that I support the South Korean team with all my heart and in his first match, South Korea has demonstrated its potential and I can even say (after the second game) we will see a feat like that of the 2002 World Cup held in South Korea and Japan.
    I can say that the outcome of the first match is not 100% a ticket to the second round dice time that Greece was not to go (as it was the European Cup 2004) The match went in one direction only.
    It remains to see that both the remaining games are against Argentina and Nigeria. Argentines with a selection that includes football stars like Lionel MESSI, TEVEZ Carlos, Juan Veron, Gonzalo Higuain, etc. …
    With so many players of this caliber, the meeting promised to be exciting, but the main thing is the 3 points.
    Nigeria and after his defeat against the warriors of Diego MARADONA not tolerate such a point and will do absolutely no gift to the Red Asia (대한민국) especially with such as goalkeeper Vincent Enyeama.
    On the ground everything is possible and the best always wins.

    I would like to add that I encourage the team to North Korea with as much enthusiasm.
    It is true that North Korea was considered unlucky to be in a group “mortal” which includes: Brazil (Kaka), Portugal (Ronaldo) and Ivory Coast (Drogba).
    His first game against Brazil was an opportunity to say that this team, of which 95% of the players are local players, is not easy to beat and they can surprise each time with a well organized defense and Jong Tae Se player like (Playing Kawasaki Frontale – Japan).
    Lately, I should also point out that the Blue Samurai were able to steal a victory thanks much for the sole purpose of Keisuke Honda (CSKA Moscow – RUSSIA) and to deceive the lions of Cameroon. ”
    (…)

  3. Gina Joy Says:

    We watched the North Korean game. Was so excited when they scored and impressed with the style of it, using the header to set it up.

  4. Real Asian Says:

    There’s a difference here. Jeong Dae Sae (learn to spell it right you white idiot, you probably can’t pronounce it correctly either).

    Jeong Dae Sae is Korean, and you’re not. Just stop trying to be because you never will be. Your mother sold out to the white man, so you don’t get to call yourself Asian.

    All you dumb halfs think we are treating you unfairly when we reject you, but you’ll never know what it’s like to live as a minority in America and you think that just by having an Asian mom you’re entitled to claim to be Asian. You don’t even speak another language except English, so your not qualified to represent any Asian culture dummy.

    • The Seoul Searcher Says:

      @ Real Asian

      Aha, and so here we have our first negative post and first real discussion! You know, I could have simply deleted your comment and forgotten about it, but I feel the need to answer your diatribe. Your post is wrong in so many ways. I’ll start with the least important and work my way up.

      About Jong Tae-Se, this is the spelling he uses on the official FIFA website, and if you notice on his jersey it says J. Tae Se. Under the revised romanization, you are right, it would be Jeong Dae Sae, but as I mentioned in my romanization article, people have the right to choose whatever spelling for their names that they want regardless of the governmental policy on romanization. If you’re going to be angry at me for spelling his name that way, then every Korean with the name Kim, Park, Lee, Chang, Cho, Ahn, Whang, Suh, Hur, Chu, Paik, Rhee, Keam, Khim, Oh, Roh, Hahn, Sunoo or Jaygal is also an idiot. Is it possible that it includes you?

      Next. My mom is white. Didn’t you even read the article before commenting? Did my Dad sell out then? My guess is that you’ll think it’s okay for Asian men to go out with white girls, but it’s not okay for Asian women to go out with white guys. I’m not blind to the ways that the American media represents Asian males and females. I know that there is a disparity. But if you’re going to be in the camp that interracially dating women are selling out, then you need to apply the same standards to interracially dating men.

      Third, while I admit that my Korean language skills aren’t perfect, and my Japanese skills are only slightly better, I’m pretty sure that this allows me to call myself trilingual.

      I don’t know where you are, but I’ll bet you grew up in the U.S. and you’re still there. That would probably mean I’ve been living in our homeland for longer than you have. While I freely admit I’m probably in less of a position to represent 2nd generation Korean-American culture (as only one of my parents in an immigrant), I think whatever images you might have of Korea are those your parents told you about, and I am guessing they probably left Korea in the 70’s or 80’s, which means their image of Korea is a crystallized one. Korea has changed drastically since then and Korean culture has also changed drastically. You’re right, as an American citizen who grew up in the U.S. I’m probably not qualified to represent any Asian culture as much as an Asian who grew up in Asia would be, but that doesn’t mean I’m not qualified at all.

      If I’ve made too many assumptions about you and I am wrong about anything I assumed about you, please feel free to correct me.

  5. Danielle A Says:

    This is a thoughtful and well written article. I am especially appreciative of the explanation regarding the Korean people’s feelings towards each other, outside of the government. It is something that is rather difficult for many people to understand, especially those who have not been near a civil war before. I remember the first time I came across a similar situation where South Korean citizens were shown to care about the image of North Korea. It was during the release of a James Bond movie, sometime in the early 2000s, where North Korea is portrayed in a negative light. My cousin told me about South Koreans boycotting the movie, and I was confused why. It was then that the feeling of one people-hood was first explained to me, how governments are not the only thing that determines a population’s identity, and often, cultural bonds can reach deeper. Jong’s history of being an outsider in the country he grew up in reminds me of situation of Lou Jing, only with a few obvious differences. While Jong might have been able to blend in due to looking similar, throughout her entire life, Lou Jing would never be able to do so. I am curious if you think that over time more East Asian countries will be more accepting of ethnic diversity.

    • The Seoul Searcher Says:

      @ Danielle

      I remember that movie, Die Another Day. I think the most heinous of crimes the movie committed were having Bond and Halle Berry have sex in a Buddhist temple, never once showing Seoul as a modern city, instead choosing to show the countryside with farmers plowing their fields with ox pulled plows, and the main villain changing his race from Korean to white so as to be more of a formidable opponent to bond. They also didn’t do any research on Korean names, as the 2nd villain was named Zhou, even though that’s not a Korean name.

      As for portraying the North Koreans badly, yea that’s probably true, but it was the government that they were portraying badly, not the people, so I’ll give them a pass for that one. There’s even one part in the movie where the villain wants to use a weapon of mass destruction against Japan, and his North Korean high ranking military officer father opposes him, saying that this isn’t honorable. I thought that was a fair representation of North Koreans.

      I think Asian countries will be forced to be more accepting of ethnic diversity (especially Korea and Japan) as both of these countries has a declining birth rate. Immigration is going to become a necessity in the future and the younger generation in these countries is being exposed to foreign cultures and people moreso than at any time in history. I don’t think either Japan or Korea will become some kind of utopia where people of all races live together in harmony, but America also isn’t yet at that stage. It’ll take time, but I think the day will come.

  6. Real Asian Says:

    Your so dumb! Sunoo and Jaygal aren’t Korean names! Everyone knows that Korean names have only 1 sylable. That’s proof you’re not Korean, you don’t even know that.

    If your moms also white then how you can claim being Korean at all, your 100% white. You cant decide im gonna be korean today just for hell of it.

    Your right I never went to Korea but I’ll always be Korean first more than you.

    • The Seoul Searcher Says:

      Well, I’m getting a bit tired talking with you.

      I’ll only direct you to a wikipedia page that lists all known Korean family names.
      제갈 and 선우 are rare, but they are Korean famaly names with 2 sylables. Other ones include Dokko, Namkung, Mangjeol, Dongbang, Sagong, Seomun Sobong, Eogum, Janggok, and Hwangbo.

      And you still seem to have reading comprehension problems. I said in my post that I was ethnically Korean with a white American mother. That means by default that my father is Korean.

      I don’t think I really need to respond to the rest. Have a nice day.

  7. Real Asian Says:

    You are an idiot and dumb. Wikipedia is not reliable and can be edit by anyone. I know for sure because I am Korean that all Korean names have only one sylable. It’s written in a Chinese character, and all Chinese characters have one sylable. There’s no 2 Chinese character name.

    It doesn’t matter that I didn’t go to Korea, I’m 100% full blooded pure Korean and you’re think you can talking about Dae Sae like he’s your brother but if you met he’d spit on you for being worthless pollution of our race.

  8. Real Asian Says:

    I wish North Korea would attack South so they can kill all the whites who are raping our country and stealing our girls.

  9. I saw him crying at the beginning of the match and it was so touching!!! I couldn’t help but cheering North Korea! And they did well indeed even though they lost against brazil..anyways ill keep cheering, go for it!!

  10. I thought he was crying for his country, North Korea, but now I think your guess may be right even though I don’t know about hime at all. He would have been discriminated a lot by Japanese, North Korean Zainichi, South Korean Zainichi, South Koreans and North Koreans in Japan as you said. Moreover, it would be also difficult for him to be a representative of North Korea, because he’s officially a South Korean! He would have thought those things there, I guess that’s why he cried.. Your post made me think of him in another way. Thanks!

    • The Seoul Searcher Says:

      Yea, I don’t think he’s ever even been to North Korea except for playing games. I’m wondering why he didn’t just play for South Korea though. Perhaps the South Koreans didn’t think he was good enough?

      • I searched for some articles to know about him more. I was curious about hime after reading your post!

        The first reason why he chose North Korea instead of South Korea or Japan, North Korea is more familiar to him. His mother from North Korea sent him to North Korean school in Japan as you mentioned, so he had a lot of opportunities to contact the culture. That may have made him feel more comfortable from North Korea than any other country.

        Second, he said he wanted to keep his promise. When he was in high school, he went on a school trip to Pyeongyang. It was the first time that he visited his homeland. He was very impressed at that time, so he promised in front of all his schoolmates that he would visit there as a representative soccer player of North Korea. From that time, he always desired to be a representative of North Korea.

        Third, the Korea Football Association(South Korea) didn’t accept him by the reseon of school relations. They probably wanted to select those who are from specific schools. Actually, I’m not sure about this, because I just saw it on someone’s private site without any evidence . It might be a rumor.

        That’s what I found😀

        • The Seoul Searcher Says:

          I don’t know for sure, but if he’s so in love with North Korea, why is it that he doesn’t live there and why is it that he never wants to discuss politics?

          I think there could be something to the KFA not wanting him, but it wouldn’t have been because he was going to Chongryon schools, it would have been because he’s a Zainichi. South Korean athletics associations prefer homegrown stars to Zainichi. You might know the case of Choo Sung Hoon (AKA Yoshihiro Akiyama), who is a Zainichi Judo fighter who couldn’t make the Korean team for the 2002 Asian games. Instead he became a Japanese citizen, joined the Japanese team, and won the gold by defeating a Korean in the finals of the judo tournament. That must have seriously messed with his emotions.

          I guess my write up on him is mostly speculation though, so I admit that my conclusions might also be false.

  11. I have Been LOVING watching all the Games…..Especially when Spain play…i am backing them to come home with the trophy this year….although there are some other countries who are actually quite amazing……But Who really knows what the outcome will be

    • The Seoul Searcher Says:

      If any European team wins it, I’d like it to be one which has not yet won before. But still I’m pulling for Africa, Asia, and North America, even if it means my arch rival teams Japan or Mexico bring the trophy home.

      • The Seoul Searcher Says:

        On second thought, I’d be comfortable with Mexico winning, but i’d really have mixed feelings about a Japan winning the world cup. The rivalry is simply too strong.

  12. The Seoul Searcher Says:

    Wasn’t very happy with the 7-0 loss to Portugal, but I’ll still cheer the team on in their last game vs Cote Di.. er.. Ivory Coast.

  13. […] and I really don’t care who wins.  The only non-Europe, non-South American team is Japan, and as stated before, I can’t bring myself to cheer for an arch rival.  Ghana’s also still alive, but I’m still […]

  14. Sepp Blatter Says:

    Great blog post.Really looking forward to read more….

    Your blog is so informative ¡­ keep up the good work!!!!…

    You really seem to know a lot more about situations that other “reputable” sources simply don’t know about. I mean, very few FIFA people would even know what a Zainichi is. I learned a lot from this one article.

  15. Danielle W Says:

    I stumbled upon this article and it was really great. I don’t really follow soccer, but Jong Tae-Se’s crying during the playing of the North Korean national anthem brought to mind many discussions of biculturalism and cultural identity I have read and heard of here in the States. The commentary on cultural identity and the steps one must take to become bi- or multicultural were profound.

    Your personal experiences provided you with great insights into what he might have been feeling at that time. While being multicultural makes one much richer in cultural and human experiences and understanding, it does bring its share of pain and complexities.

    Hooray, I’ve found someone besides Bae Yon Joon to check up on. ^_^

  16. Real Korean Says:

    @Real Asian

    I live in Korea and I am Korean. What the Seoul Searcher said in this article took a lot of guts and he knew he’d risk morons like you chiming in with their silly racist opinions.

    The Seoul Searcher also never insulted you, only refuted your asinine remarks with evidence.

    You’re the worst kind of person there is, and I’d argue that you are the least Korean out of everyone. It seem’s like it’s a huge issue for you to tell people who is and who isn’t Korean because you yourself are going through identity issues. That’s totally understandable, but do you think you yourself will be more of a Korean if you can convince the world that Seoul Searcher isn’t? Will you really feel better about yourself? Do you feel like his claim to be Korean threatens your claim somehow?

    Think about it. I think maybe you need to do some soul searching.

  17. Daryl Brazzell Says:

    I don’t completely agree, but regardless a very well written post. I think North Korea should be kicked out of FIFA.

  18. Jeromy Croom Says:

    Found your site on Yahoo, great content, but the site looks awkward in Netscape, but works fine in IE. Go figure.

  19. Candice Chin Says:

    Real Asian you are really an embarrassment. People like the author bring people closer to Asians and Asian-Americans. People like you only breed mutual hate.

  20. Marc H. Says:

    Hi,

    Just discovered this blog through your “shameless plug” at Ask a Korean’s blog. Lot of haters here, but I just wanted to say excellent post. And interesting comments about Mr. Jong and your experience in Shanghai, as far as the possible reason for the emotion.

Leave a Reply

