LED signs… FUTURISTIC CITY!

Well today on the way to work, I mistakenly got on the wrong bus and fell asleep. When I woke up I was totally in the wrong part of town. I had to get off, and take another bus to get to where I was going. Needless to say I was about 40 minutes late! But that’s not totally terrible, because I noticed something today that I usually fail to notice because I’m usually dozing off at this part of the bus route.

This bus is needed EARLIER

Now, I just want to talk about something that infuriates me. Normally I have to take the bus before 7:40 every morning to get to my office at 9:00. The closer to 7:40 it is, the more people are on the bus. This means if I get the bus at exactly 7:40, I have to stand for about 60% of the bus ride before I get to this one subway station where most of the people get off. Today, when I was late, I ended up getting back on the bus I usually use at 8:30. This bus was a double length bus, capable of holding twice as many people. More space during rush hour makes sense, right? Well the infuriating part is that THE BUS WAS ALMOST COMPLETELY EMPTY!!!!!!!!!!! It should be OBVIOUS then that the double length bus is needed from 7:00 to 9:00, not 8:00 to 9:00. Enough of your whining! What did you see? Ah, okay. Well when I looked out the window I saw this huge pylon with a sign. It’s a giant moving sign. The pylon was basically covered with one LONG screen. It definitely makes the city look futuristic, which I suppose is what the designers were going for, but come on, is it totally necessary? If you ask me, it’s kind of a waste of resources, but it’s still cool. Times Square is famous for its giant neon sign display, so maybe the Nonhyun station area will further develop into Seoul’s Times Square in the future. I’m not sure. Anyway, here’s a video showing what I saw. http://www.youtube.com/v/U1lFakvedEE&hl=en_US&fs=1&

10 Responses to “LED signs… FUTURISTIC CITY!”

  1. 森田茂 Says:

    LEDスゲー

  2. The Seoul Searcher Says:

    今日本ではこんなのはある? 僕、東京の違いに住んでた時こんなのはそんなになかったよね。それは数年前だったもんね。

  3. It’s so amazing!!!

  4. Hahahaha! It’s the same here in Italy (Milan-Lake of Como)!
    The trains are always so small at 7:30am and from 18 o’clock to 19 o’clock. Of course during the afternoon the trains are all large and big!🙂 I always asked myself why they do that… Maybe just for fun?!
    The long LED screens are nice to see as a modern way to decorate the city but… What a waste of energy (especially during the day)!! Do they use ecological power?

    • The Seoul Searcher Says:

      I don’t know for sure, but I think all of Seoul is using Nuclear power, so if that’s ecological, then the answer is YES. Some would argue that nuclear power isn’t ecological though.

  5. Times Square is better

  6. I agree with you, don’t worry😉

  7. I have to say this,,,, I love the way you write, as my sister would say (usually to me lol) I can almost hear you, you write in a way that it dosn’t feel like I’m reading a post but listening to it wich makes even more enjoyable this blog. Just started reading all your blogs but..so far so good!!

    Congrats!!

    -Gisela V.

Leave a Reply

